Toggle navigation

Area Agency on Aging selects Clara Ekleberry as 2019 Outstanding Senior Citizen for Wyandot County

  Posted on August 23, 2019

Ontario OH – The Ohio District 5 Area Agency on Aging Inc. is proud to announce Clara Ekleberry has been selected as the 2019 Outstanding Senior Citizen for Wyandot County. She and eight other recipients were honored on Thursday, Aug. 22 at a ceremony hosted at Hawkins Corner.

Ekleberry was nominated by Wyandot County Council on Aging. She sits on the Wyandot County Council on Aging board where she serves on the Finance, Nominations and the 5-year Planning committees. She has been part of the Mohawk Community Library for 25 years. Over the last 6 years Mickey has added to her list of community service. She joined the Wyandot County Community Foundation Board of Trustees. This is a public charitable organization created by citizens of the community to improve the quality of life for those who live and work in the Wyandot County area. During the school year, Mickey volunteers with Wyandot Cares. Here she escorts elementary school children off campus to religious education classes.

Mickey has attended Saint Pius Catholic Church in Sycamore for over 60 years. Mickey has given much of her time to St. Pius Catholic church and when I asked Mickey how she volunteers her time there, she replied, “I do whatever needs done.”

Commissioner Steve Seitz and Commissioner Bill Clinger joined Mickey to recognize her for her achievements and contributions.

Each year the Area Agency on Aging honors senior citizens who are making a difference in their communities and present a positive image of aging. There is one award recipient for each county in the Agency’s service area (Ashland, Crawford, Huron, Knox, Marion, Morrow, Richland, Seneca, and Wyandot.)

Awardees must first be nominated by an individual or organization involved with seniors. They are then selected by the Agency based on the impact of their contributions and accomplishments within the community made after reaching age 60.

Additionally, the following residents of Wyandot County received the 2019 Safe Driver Award at the ceremony: Ron Boose, David Fadley, Bob Harbour, Bill Lambrite, Joe Meeker, Trey Miller, Ron Moening, Dennis Moore, Carl Noggle, Deb Parsons, Vince Rodriguez, Donald Secoy, Chuck Stiger, Jim Swartz, Dennis Walton, Larry Webster and Irvin Woods.

The Ohio District 5 Area Agency on Aging, Inc., located at 2131 Park Avenue West in Ontario, provides leadership, collaboration, coordination and services to older adults, people with disabilities, their caregivers & resource networks that support individual choice, independence and dignity.