Toggle navigation

Area Agency on Aging selects Dave Bush as 2019 Outstanding Senior Citizen for Crawford County

  Posted on August 23, 2019

Ontario OH – The Ohio District 5 Area Agency on Aging Inc. is proud to announce Dave Bush has been selected as the 2019 Outstanding Senior Citizen for Crawford County. He and eight other recipients were honored on Thursday, August 22 at a ceremony hosted at Hawkins Corner.

Bush was nominated by WBCO/WQEL Radio. In his nomination, it was shared that he graduated from Bucyrus High School in 1972 and graduated with bachelors’ and master’s degrees from The Ohio State University. Most of his life has been spent as an educator, stockbroker, business owner and most recently host of the Spotlight program on WBCO Radio.

Dave has made an impact with many significant and long-lasting contributions that will be felt throughout the Crawford County Community now and in the future. He has been an active member of the Crawford County Council on Aging and raised money for their activities department and hosted their annual Golden Years Hall of Fame ceremony as emcee.

Through his radio program, Dave has strived to encourage individuals to grow and better their lives through education and become active in the community. He has been on the forefront regarding business development with the goal of making Crawford County a better place to live.

Commissioner Tim Ley, Commissioner Doug Weisenauer, Commissioner Mo Ressallat, and Mayor Jeff Reser joined Mr. Bush and thanked him for his contributions to the community.

Each year the Area Agency on Aging honors senior citizens who are making a difference in their communities and present a positive image of aging.

There is one award recipient for each county in the Agency’s service area (Ashland, Crawford, Huron, Knox, Marion, Morrow, Richland, Seneca, and Wyandot.)

Awardees must first be nominated by an individual or organization involved with seniors. They are then selected by the Agency based on the impact of their contributions and accomplishments within the community made after reaching age 60.

Additionally, the following residents of Crawford County received the 2019 Safe Driver Award at the ceremony: Kevin Ruth, Mike Browning, Darrell Smith, Ron Higbie, Dave Reffey, Sam Eichhorn, Gary Harigle, Don Heydinger, Don Neumann, Dale Starcher and Mike Tighe.

The Ohio District 5 Area Agency on Aging, Inc., located at 2131 Park Avenue West in Ontario, provides leadership, collaboration, coordination and services to older adults, people with disabilities, their caregivers & resource networks that support individual choice, independence and dignity.