Toggle navigation

Area Agency on Aging selects Fred and Annabelle Hespeler as 2018 Outstanding Senior Citizens for Huron County

  Posted on August 23, 2018

Ontario OH – The Ohio District 5 Area Agency on Aging Inc. is proud to announce Fred and Annabelle Hespeler have been selected as the 2018 Outstanding Senior Citizens for Huron County. They and eight other recipients were honored on Thursday, Aug. 23 at a ceremony hosted at Hawkins Corner.

Fred and Annabelle were nominated by Roxanne Sandles from Senior Enrichment Services. In their nomination she shares that the Hespelers have been instrumental in supporting

Age Exchange, Senior Enrichment Service’s intergenerational program bringing 1st—3rd graders and seniors together for after school mentoring.

“They have provided countless hours of guidance and mentoring to many children,” said Sandles in the nomination. “Some of the children who were mentored by Fred and Annabelle over the years have returned to visit them in their home.”

When Sandles asked Fred what Age Exchange meant to them, he said, “I like to work with children. They will do what you ask them to. I like to watch them learn things you help them with. They are a great group of children. It gives me something to do to watch them do their work.”

Fred and Annabelle received a special dedication from the Huron County Commissioners at the ceremony.

Each year the Area Agency on Aging honors senior citizens who are making a difference in their communities and present a positive image of aging.

There is one award recipient for each county in the Agency’s service area (Ashland, Crawford, Huron, Knox, Marion, Morrow, Richland, Seneca, and Wyandot.)

Awardees must first be nominated by an individual or organization involved with seniors. They are then selected by the Agency based on the impact of their contributions and accomplishments within the community made after reaching age 60.

Additionally, the following residents of Huron County received the 2018 Safe Driver Award at the ceremony: Becky Bottomlee, Charlie Jors, Patty Ezell, Monte Marsh, Ron Hammersmith, Lou Reda, Bruce Harp, Kyle Schrader, Dennis Hartley, Gene Smith, Jim Hretha, Earl Jenkins, and Mike Wetzel.                                                          

The Ohio District 5 Area Agency on Aging, Inc., located at 2131 Park Avenue West in Ontario, provides leadership, collaboration, coordination and services to older adults, people with disabilities, their caregivers & resource networks that support individual choice, independence and dignity.