Toggle navigation

Area Agency on Aging selects Larry McGlinchy as 2019 Outstanding Senior Citizen for Huron County

  Posted on August 23, 2019

Ontario OH – The Ohio District 5 Area Agency on Aging Inc. is proud to announce Larry McGlinchy has been selected as the 2019 Outstanding Senior Citizen for Huron County. He and eight other recipients were honored on Thursday, Aug. 22 at a ceremony hosted at Hawkins Corner.

McGlinchy was nominated by Services for Aging, Inc. In their nomination it was shared that Larry’s involvement with NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) was a personal one and he started a chapter in Huron County in 1998 (over 20 years). In the nomination letter one support group member stated, “Larry’s compassion and enthusiasm for the mentally ill and their families is refreshing!”

In addition, Larry and his friend Brenda Soblesky worked tirelessly several years ago to bring National training for law enforcement and first responders in our area called Crisis Intervention Team. This training teaches first responders how to handle persons who are having a mental health crisis. The goal is to keep them out of jail and in treatment and on the road to recovery. Very much needed. McGlinchy’s community involvement includes; Huron County Engineer for 12 years, Long time Norwalk Kiwanis member, past Easter Seals Board Member, Rails to Trails lifetime member, as well as much more.
Each year the Area Agency on Aging honors senior citizens who are making a difference in their communities and present a positive image of aging. There is one award recipient for each county in the Agency’s service area (Ashland, Crawford, Huron, Knox, Marion, Morrow, Richland, Seneca, and Wyandot.)

Awardees must first be nominated by an individual or organization involved with seniors. They are then selected by the Agency based on the impact of their contributions and accomplishments within the community made after reaching age 60.

Additionally, the following residents of Huron County received the 2019 Safe Driver Award at the ceremony: Robert Booth, Patty Ezell, Betsy Feaga, Ron Hammersmith, Bruce Harp, Dennis Hartley, Jim Hreha, Reggie Jackson, Earl Jenkins, Louis Reda, Kyle Schrader, Gene Smith and Mike Wetzel.

The Ohio District 5 Area Agency on Aging, Inc., located at 2131 Park Avenue West in Ontario, provides leadership, collaboration, coordination and services to older adults, people with disabilities, their caregivers & resource networks that support individual choice, independence and dignity.